background img

The New Stuff

Winners of the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards

Winners of the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards

Winners of the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards

A few days back, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (a.k.a. NATAS) dished out trophies and recognition to the winners of the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy Awards. The event recognizes outstanding achievement in all creative fields of daytime TV production during the 2009 calendar year, making specific note of cartoons, animated programs, and the networks that air them. PBS took home the most nods this year, with 15 wins. Nickelodeon followed with 11, and Disney, Ion, and The CW each walked away with one. Take a look at a partial list of winners:

New Approaches Daytime Children’s:
The Electric Company – PBS

Preschool Children’s Series:
Sesame Street – PBS

Special Class Animated Program:
SpongeBob SquarePants – Nickelodeon
Penguins of Madagascar – Nickelodeon

Performer in a Children’s Series:
Sesame Street PBS: Kevin Clash as Elmo
Sesame Street PBS: Joey Mazzarino as Stinky, Murray & Blogg

Performer in an Animated Program
The Wonder Pets! Nickelodeon: Eartha Kitt as Cool Cat

Writing in Animation
Back at the Barnyard Nickelodeon: Jed Spingarn (writer/producer); Tom Sheppard (writer); Dan Serafin (writer); Gene Grillo (writer/story editor)
Disney Phineas and Ferb Disney Channel: Antoine Guilbaud (writer); Kim Roberson (writer); Dan Povenmire (writer); Bobby Gaylor (writer)

Writing in a Children’s Series
Sesame Street PBS: Joey Mazzarino (head writer); Judy Freudberg (writer/head writer Elmo’s World); Belinda Ward (writer); John Weidman (writer); Luis Santeiro (writer); Emily Kingsley (writer); Christine Ferraro (writer); Annie Evans (writer); Molly Boylan (writer); Tony Geiss (writer)

Directing in an Animated Program
Fanboy and Chum Chum Nickelodeon: Jim Schumann (director); Brian Sheesley (director); Ginny McSwain (voice director)

Directing in a Children’s Series
Sesame Street PBS: Lisa Simon (director); Ken Diego (director); Kevin Clash (director); Nadine Zylstra (director); Joey Mazzarino (director); Scott Preston (director); Matt Vogel (director)

ToonBarn Rob

um… the ToonBarn guy, of course! but you can call me Rob

Recently Published


Jerry Jones and Adventure Time: The reasons why fans feel off about Cartoons the last several years…

What does Jerry Jones, the owner of The Dallas Cowboys, one of the ...


Netflix launches new Pucca: Love Recipe animated series

Streaming giant Netflix added the new CG-animated Pucca: Love Recipe ...


Toys reveal first look at new Chinese Transformers animated series

These Autobots have definitely been hiding, though not necessarily in ...


Spookley the Square Pumpkin returns with new TV special after 15 years

The 2004 CG-animated movie Spookley the Square Pumpkin is getting a ...


Bakugan Battle Planet brawls into second season

Bakugan is standing tall, like an awesome one. Spin Master’s ...


Cartoon Network Asia adds Time Bokan 24

WarnerMedia’s Cartoon Network channels in Asia are adding a ...

fast & furious: spy racers

Fast & Furious Franchise Gets a Cartoon Spin-Off

Vin Diesel’s massively successful Fast & Furious franchise ...


Batman Beyond 20th Anniversary Interviews from NYCC & SDCC – Part 2

Yesterday, we shared our first half of interviews from New York ...


Batman Beyond: The Complete Animated Series Limited Edition

Batman Beyond, the landmark animated television series that ...

Skip to toolbar