background img

The New Stuff


Cast of Watership Down Miniseries Announced

Watership Down, a novel by Richard Adams continues to inspire new achievements of entertainment with Netflix and BBC One announcing the tale will be interpreted once more into a 4-part mini-series of animated 60-minute episodes, which will start airing in 2017. The new series will be launched in the U.K. on BBC One and on Netflix outside the U.K.

Directed by Noam Murro and written by Tom Bidwell, Watership Down features James McAvoy (Hazel), Nicholas Hoult (Fiver), Sir Ben Kingsley (General Woundwort), John Boyega (Bigwig), Gemma Artenton (Clover), Miles Jupp (Blackberry), Freddie Fox (Captain Holly), Olivia Colman (Strawberry) and Anne-Marie Duff (Hyzenthlay).
It is co-produced by Netflix and BBC One and produced by 42 and Noam Murro’s Biscuit Film. Pete Dodd (Frankenweenie, Fantastic Mr. Fox) leads the CG animation team together with Dublin animation house Brown Bag Films. International distribution will be handled by ITV Studios Global Entertainment.

Watership Down is set in the peaceful rural landscape of southern England. A story of courage, adventure and survival, it follows a band of rabbits on their journey from the invasion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Headed by a stouthearted pair of brothers, they go on a trip forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the disturbing trials caused by adversaries and predators to a promised land.


Cecilia Cordero

A stay-at-home mom who writes enjoys pop culture in all of its forms. You can find more of her stuff at Super Hero Stuff I Want

Recently Published


Disney is Rebooting the Proud Family?

A lot of the young Toonbarn readers probably won’t remember ...


TRAILER: DreamWorks’ Archibald’s Next Big Thing

DreamWorks Animation recently unveiled the official trailer for ...


Hasbro Acquires eOne for $4B

Toy company Hasbro continues to expand, as it recently managed ...


eOne Kickstarts New Bike-Themed Series, Ricky Zoom

eOne is preparing to launch a new bike-themed preschool series ...


Nickelodeon Promotes Early Entrepreneurship with Middle School Moguls

Nickelodeon recently announced a new four part series of half ...


LEGO DC Batman: Family Matters Interviews at SDCC

ToonBarn Head Writer Marc Morrell was at the World Premiere of LEGO ...


Batman: Hush blu-ray released today; Exclusive Production Crew Interviews

Yesterday, we shared our Exclusive ToonBarn Interviews with the ...


Batman: Hush Exclusive Interviews with the Voice Cast from SDCC Premiere

To honor tomorrow’s Blu-ray release of Batman: Hush, we have ...


Voice Cast for Star Trek: Lower Decks Revealed

One of the more exciting bits of news surrounding the Comic-Con ...

Skip to toolbar